Skip to content

When life is hard…

May 14, 2009

…you have to Bake.

The dough is full of holes...The biscuits are in the oven. ©Dominique Lemoine

The dough is full of holes...the biscuits are in the oven. ©Dominique Lemoine 2009

I had a really rough time last week and the one that started a couple of days ago hasn’t been a lot better. For the past 9 days I’ve cried almost every single day, I’ve kept my head down and my mouth shut. I haven’t even smiled that much and, believe me, I’m a smiling person. My parents are getting divorced (and, somehow, that still affects me deep down inside although I know it’s for the best), my mom is awfully depressed and my formal job sucks.  

There have been ups and downs (with ups that are pretty “down” and no where near “up”) but I’ve been feeling blue and unglued most of the time. There’s one word in spanish for that, just one word that describes perfectly how I’ve been these days: chinche. We say, in a familiar way, that children are being or feeling chinche when they are desperate, crying and rubbing their eyes and not knowing what to do with themselves. Just like me lately. But, unlike them, who can only suck their thumbs, cry their eyes out and wait for their baby bottles, I’ve found myself a way to escape: baking.

Whenever I feel lost and despaired, I arm myself with a whisk, a spatula, some dough and an oven to pluck up some courage and punch life in the stomach. Keeping my mind busy with the exact amount of ingredients that I need and the precise steps I have to follow, and just feeling how it all comes together in my hands soothes and comforts me to the core.

So, it looks like I’m some sort of emotional baker. Of course it’s not that I  do it just when I’m sad or down -I love to bake, simple as that-, but it sure works like a charm when my heart needs some cuddling and I’m about to fall apart. Last sunday I was definitely chinche, so I needed something delicious, fresh, salty (I had had enough chocolate already) and warm right out of the oven. Everything pointed to Biscuits Ciboulette-Fromage (Cheese-Chive Biscuits), the delicious remedy bites I want to share with you this time.

(Makes about 12 biscuits)

  • 2 cups of flour (the best quality you can get)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder (not yeast)
  • one pinch of salt
  • 1 cup full of  grated cheese (cheddar or a strong flavored cheese is better,  I used Münster this time)
  • 1/4 cup of  finely minced chives
  • 90 g of unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup of milk
©Dominique Lemoine

©Dominique Lemoine 2009

  1. In a bowl, put together the flour, baking powder, salt, cheese and chives.
  2. Cut in the room-temperature butter and mix until small coarse crumbs appear.
  3. Pour the milk and mix thoroughly until you get a moistened, even mixture.
  4. Put the dough in a lightly floured surface and knead it.
  5. Then, roll it out to form a thin (about 2 cm thick, or less) circle.
  6. With a round cookie cutter (or you can always use a glass if you don’t have the right tools) cut out as many small rounds as you can. If needed, gather the scraps of dough, knead again and roll out once more to cut more biscuits.
  7. Preheat the oven to 220°C (430°F).
  8. Place the biscuits on baking paper on a baking sheet (or pan), put them in the oven and let them bake for 15-20 minutes until they’re golden brown.

 

Warm cheese-chive biscuits. Hmm...!

Warm cheese-chive biscuits. Hmm...! ©Dominique Lemoine 2009

If you don’t eat all the biscuits you can store the ones left over in an air-tight container, in the fridge (!! otherwise the cheese will go bad and the biscuits will spoil), for 7  or 10 days.

I hope these biscuits delight you and make you as happy as they made me!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 10:39 pm

    Oye te estás demorando en publicar tu libro de cocina. Está del carajo esto. Bueno me voy porque me dio hambre!

  2. Santiago Parga L. permalink
    May 14, 2009 11:25 pm

    Las fotos de esta semana están mejor que de costumbre; se nota la práctica y que ya estás encontrando tu propio estilo. Me gustan las telitas y las cucharas, especialmente en la última foto. En realidad es muy injusto que seas naturalmente buena para tantas cosas.

    Te felicito. Vas a ver que la La petite gourmande va a ser todo un éxito

    SPL
    Vicepresidente junior-La petite gourmande pâtisserie-

  3. domalina permalink*
    May 15, 2009 6:56 am

    @Valero: Graciasss!! tan bonito! si te dio hambre, te debo un postre entonces.

  4. May 15, 2009 2:21 pm

    Hmmm. Deli. Guardaste en la nevera? Voy a ir a asaltarla.

    Como sigue tu animo pequeña?

    Amo a ti.

  5. domalina permalink*
    May 15, 2009 3:28 pm

    @enana: guardé y ya no quedan. murieron todititos. pero pronto vuelvo a hacer. El ánimo, pues no estoy at my best pues. Me haces falta.

  6. stiliano permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:35 pm

    Very nice blog, very nice post!!

  7. domalina permalink*
    May 18, 2009 2:13 pm

    @Stiliano: Thanks! 🙂

  8. October 5, 2009 10:26 pm

    Alo? Volverás a este lugar?

  9. domalina permalink*
    October 6, 2009 11:40 am

    Sí… pronto, eventualmente. Sí,sí. Tú? vuelves???? 🙂 plis.

  10. tanya cornwell permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:11 pm

    I love your blog. Thanks for the great recipe! I am making it again today on thanksgiving. AH, parents…. they can really hurt in so many ways. I hope you feel better soon.

  11. domalina permalink*
    November 27, 2009 10:31 am

    Thank you! I’m glad you like the blog and you’re doing the recipes! I am feeling better now, although there are always ups and downs (no surprise, haha).
    Anyway, keep cooking and enjoying the blog, I shall come back soon and write again.

Leave a Reply

